Veja V-10 and Veja Esplar: Which One is Worth Your Money + Which One Isn’t

Updated on 3/3/21 to add a review of the Veja V-10 Sneaker

Thoughts on Styling + a Review of the Veja Esplar Sneakers

One last thing before you go, I also have a video review of these Veja Esplar’s for your guys. I’ve had a lot of questions about them (sizing, fit, overall quality, etc.) so I thought the easiest way for me to review them would be to just chat with you about it. I hope you find it helpful!

Updated on 3/3/21 to add: I ended up swapping for a different size of these… and they still didn’t fit very well. On top of not fitting very well I found them to be long term not very comfortable and they never really broke in so in the end I sold them.

Now onto the Veja V-10 sneaker review:

First: these are BY FAR more comfortable than the Esplar! I had zero break in time, and thy were easy to wear right out of the box. The overall structure of the tennis shoes feels much better than the Esplar as well. The Esplar feels very rigid and I DO imagine that if you could get them to break in they’d end up being shaped to your feet in the best way. However, the V-10 is much softer, and they hug your feet right away. I also just think the shape of the shoe in general is a bit more flattering with the height of the heel. The tongue of the shoes are a bit long like the other Veja’s I’ve tried, but I haven’t noticed any rubbing from them… and I have worn them on really long walks. 

As far as sizing, the sizing is still a bit wonky (I WISH they would do half sizes!). The 8 is too small, and the 9 felt a bit big at first (I’m typically a true size 9). I solved the problem by wearing some no show socks, which made them fit perfectly… but weirdly lately I feel like they fit a lot better. It’s possible that my feet are more swollen ha! But actually I think it’s just the shoes forming better to my feet with each wear.

Veja’s ARE a spendy sneaker, but the V-10’s have become one of my go to sneaker ever since I got them. The style goes with a ton of different looks, and they are comfortable for all of the “mom things” I do every day + going on walks. 

I would 100% recommend.

veja review, veja esplar, veja v10

I hope this was helpful guys! Let me know if you have any questions in the comments below.

Until next time,

Karin

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

16 Comments

  1. 9.22.17
    Sam said:

    Digging on that hat! Love it!

  2. 9.22.17

    Love the shirt! I wouldn’t say I struggle with styling, but I’ve made the conscious choice to not focus on it. My ideal styling looks casual, but can honestly feel fussy. I feel like I spend the majority of my time with 2 kids piled on my lap or doing dishes/putting away laundry, and the last thing I want to worry about is if my side tucked shirt is staying put or if a kid is going to accidently pull out a dangly earring. And I share the same sentiment with house styling. So I’ve made my peace with not having my exact, fav styling and keeping things ultra minimal until my kids are a little older.

    • 9.26.17
      Karin said:

      Thanks girl! It was love at first sight. 🙂 I get where you’re coming from, and most days that’s exactly how I feel! But I do really enjoy spending time on my outfits and coming up with a “look” (which I guess is one of the reasons I started blogging), and I was starting to feel like I was losing that. I definitely don’t sweat it if my shirt comes untucked, but it does feel nice when I make the effort. 🙂

  3. 9.22.17

    I think you did a good job, but you’re right, accessorizing can be difficult. I feel like my sister does a pretty good job with that but I’m not that great. Granted, I like layering in the fall so that will help a bit.

    -Lauren

    • 9.26.17
      Karin said:

      Yes fall definitely is easier when it comes to accessorizing! Layering is a girls best friend! 🙂

  4. 9.26.17

    This is awesome. Accessorizing is always the hardest part!

    • 9.26.17
      Karin said:

      It’s my greatest weakness haha!

  5. 9.26.17
    Lo said:

    I struggle so much with accessories. I find it hard to invest in stuff like jewelry (I’m too indecisive and wouldn’t know what to wear it with), so I usually just go without. But whenever I have a more fancy event, I feel a little underdressed. I’ve been liking bandanas lately, but styling is still an area where I don’t always know the line to walk between overdone/fussy and too bare.

    • 9.26.17
      Karin said:

      Gosh I know exactly how you feel! That’s part of the reason I don’t own much at all. I also have been loving bandanas, but I do usually end up feeling like I’ve overdone it and then just take all of my accessories off. I really need to work on finding a healthy medium.

  6. 11.15.17
    nathalie said:

    Hi can you tell me what size shoe you got? 39 or 40? I’m a US 8 and not sure if I should go with the 38 or 39 🙁

    • 11.21.17
      Karin said:

      I started with an 8/39 (I wear a true 9 in all other brands) because of reviews online and then ended up trading with someone for a 9/40 and those were too big… bummer! I would have fit perfectly in a between size. I’m sorry that’s not much more help!

  7. 5.19.18
    Kate said:

    Hi!

    I got these exact Veja’s for Christmas and have been wearing them pretty consistently for almost 2 months. Almost too consistently. I’ve gone in three hour walks in them. 😛 Anyway, I noticed recently that the creping on the bottoms is smoothing out in a particular spot, and that there is some wear on the heels. As it’s been a few more months since this review was posted, I was wondering how your shoes are holding up. Do you notice similar wear, or have I been speeding up the aging of these shoes? Do you think Veja’s age well, or do they not have the longevity of a Converse or Adidas?

    Thanks! 🙂

    • 6.11.18
      Karin said:

      To be honest, I ended up selling them about six months after this post. I really liked them, but they were just a tad bit too small, which made them uncomfortable if I wore them for more than just a couple of hours. I traded with someone on Noihsaf Bazaar for the next size up, and they were too big. So for now I’ve put a hold on Veja’s. At some point I may try one of their softer material styles to see if those work a bit better.

  8. 3.5.21
    Rebecca B. said:

    I have the v-12 I white/émeraude and love them, though I’m still mad I didn’t grab the Holiday Bastille in Gray Nubuck (didn’t realize they’d be discontinued). I grabbed some gray Reeboks to scratch that itch, and like them, though my Vejas feel like nicer and more expansive (if less cushy) sneakers.

    • 3.6.21
      Karin said:

      You totally nailed it with the description of the Veja vs. Reeboks! I have both brands as well and I definitely get more use out of the Reebok’s because of their comfort level, the Veja’s just LOOK nicer and feel nicer with an outfit.

Stay Up to Date!

Subscribe to be the first to know when I upload fresh content.

Subscribe

* indicates required